The Bulletin Board is place to post your industry related Bulletins or Announcements. The Bulletin Board is a free service offered to the industry for the posting of industry related bulletins or announcements. You can post Department of Insurance Bulletins, NFIP Bulletins, Storm Bulletins, Company Announcements and other important industry related news. But please do not post ads. We provide the Classifieds for ads. To Add a Bulletin or Announcement login first then click the "Add Article" button below.
"As of October 15, 2014, Governor Neil Abercrombie signed an emergency proclamation in anticipation of the arrival of Tropical Storm Ana, which is forecast to impact the state this weekend, possibly as a hurricane.
Pursuant to Hawaii Revised Statutes (“HRS”) § 431:9-201(b), Insurance Commissioner
Gordon I. Ito has determined that nonresident adjusters can operate in the state without a Hawaii
license to assist with the anticipated amount of work that could be more than the current capacity
in the islands. "
Source: DECLARATION FROM THE STATE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER
The Insurance Division wants to ensure that adjusters and insurance companies will be able to respond to the homeowners' needs within a reasonable time. Nonresident adjusters must comply with the following in order to operate in the state without a license pursuant to this statute for up to 30 days from the date of registration: see the attached pdf for additional details
“The last hurricane that hit Hawaii was Hurricane Iniki in 1992, and Kauai took the brunt of the damage,” said Insurance Commissioner Gordon Ito. “Hurricane Iniki caused almost $2 billion in damages, which is about $3 billion in today’s dollars. It can take just one major storm to cause severe property damage, and we urge you to be prepared.”
TO: ALL COMPANIES, CORPORATIONS, EXCHANGES, MUTUALS, RECIPROCALS, ASSOCIATIONS, LLOYDS, OR OTHER INSURERS WRITING PROPERTY AND CASUALTY INSURANCE IN THE STATE OF TEXAS AND TO THEIR REPRESENTATIVES AND AGENTS, AND TO ADJUSTERS, PUBLIC ADJUSTERS, ROOFING CONTRACTORS, AND THE PUBLIC GENERALLY
RE: House Bill 1183
Highlights from the Bill
Deadline for Filing Claim: (1)require an insured to file a claim under the policy not later than the first anniversary of the date on which the damage or loss that is the basis of the claim occurs; The commissioner, on a showing of good cause by a person insured under this chapter, may extend the one-year period described by Subsection (a)(1) for a period not to exceed 90 days.