i want to be an adjuster...
 Forum Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Chantal

USA
2 Posts

Posted - 09/24/2002 :  10:31:56  Show Profile
Hey all! I found this great site and would like to ask a question to all of you adjusters. I was a Personal Lines Manager/Agent and am now interested in becoming a CAT Adjuster. I have my CIC, CISR, ACSR and was wondering how I could find an employer that would hire someone without any experience in adjusting? I'm in the Dallas area but am open to anything. Thanks for your suggestions!

Chantal

zebraman

USA
3 Posts

Posted - 09/29/2002 :  17:40:59  Show Profile
Chantal,
If I May....
Let me throw out my past to perhaps help you a little.
I was an Investigator at the Public Defender's Office in Portland, OR.
I wanted to get into insurance adjusting because most of my investigative skills transfered and the caliber of people I would deal with would improve (however marginally).
I was counselled by a gray haired claims guy. I have followed his advice to the letter.
First, be careful who you start with. He advised one of the big three (Snake Farm, All(most)State, or Farmers. He also said to make sure that I would be given a chance to train as a multi-line adjuster. Most of the bigger companies will try to 'pigeonhole' you and put and keep you in a specific claims discipline. Only Farmers offered the opportunity to be Multi-line. They hired me as an auto adjuster. While I was in training, there was an opening for a multi-line resident adjuster in Central Oregon. I was given the opportunity to cross-train in 3 weeks. I rode with a liability adjuster and a property adjuster for 1 week each. I was thrown out in the field with a draft pad, a small clue, and thick skin. I made a lot of brain farts. My Supervisor told me to drive on and learn. I did.