Some newbie question
 Forum Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic   

zebraman

USA
3 Posts

Posted - 09/02/2002 :  00:03:04  Show Profile
By way of explanation, I have been an adjuster for several years. I was a multi-line resident for Farmers in Central Oregon and moved as a supervisor to North and South Dakota. Have had much experience with forest fire claims and hail.
I am now a multi-line supervisor for a regional mutual in Ohio.
I have been considering a jump to the road. I am wondering about getting started.
I have a camper and truck and laptop. I have been using a number of estimating softwares and am wondering if multiple types are required.
I am licensed in Kentucky. Do I need to be licensed in all states or is there reciprosity?
What about E&O insurance?

I have had Pilot guys over the years tell me to do this and I guess I would like to take a step or two.
Do you apply with a bunch of companies and jump back and forth? Do you just work for a few? What pitfalls have those of you who have come from company position into the CAT world run into?

I love claims. I have always been addicted to CAT duty. Long hours are not a problem.

Talk to me.

ChuckDeaton

USA
373 Posts

Posted - 09/13/2002 :  21:59:33  Show Profile
Cat 101 remains free for the asking.
Go to Top of Page

Ghostbuster

476 Posts

Posted - 09/14/2002 :  07:31:21  Show Profile
May I humbly suggest if you are considering a jump to the road, you may well want to consider a jump into long haul trucking. The prognosis for storm trooping and adjusting in general is more than a little grim.
Go to Top of Page

NA

USA
114 Posts

Posted - 09/16/2002 :  06:59:49  Show Profile