Digital Cameras
 Forum Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Wally

USA
10 Posts

Posted - 12/30/2003 :  23:34:12  Show Profile
I would love feed back on your experience with your digital camera. I had been using a Mavica FD-73 for several years. Then I "up graded" to one of the new generation cameras. After working about 250 claims this year and taking about 10,000 pictures with the newbie, I have decided to look for a new camera.
The Mavica FD-73 has a:
10x optical zoom
Writes to a Floppy
produces a jpg file of upwards of 90k in regular mode and
larger in fine mode (I never use the fine mode.)
Large rechargable battery
Fast to recharge for new shots (less than 1 second.)
It weighs about 2 pounds
It is big like 1956 DeSoto.

This summer I bought a Nicon CoolPic 2100:
3x optical Zoom
3.3x digital zoom. This produces a fair picture at about 8x.
Has three sizes of Pictures (Regular - 90k, Large - 300k and
Gigantic. I only use the regular.)
Uses 2 AA batteries
Takes about 3 to 5 seconds or longer between shots.
About 80 pictures to a set of batteries.
Only weighs a few ounces.
It is small and easily handable.
I have a two 64 meg memory cards and one 16 meg memory card for
holding pictures. Total of about 900 pictures if needed.

The bigest draw back to the CoolPic is the time between shots. It really limits the usability of the camera. I have found the bigest concern for the camera is the time between shots. Since everything else is ok that is my major concern when replacing the CoolPic.

Thanks for your feed back
Wally

jlombardo

USA
212 Posts

Posted - 12/31/2003 :  06:47:03  Show Profile
Wally,